Ratatoooooweeeeeeee!

A little while before I started blogging, but well into my journey of blog obsession, I made ratatouille for the first time. I fell in love!

I can’t for the life of me remember what made me think of looking for a ratatouille recipe, but I was smitten by what Google Images showed me. When I clicked on the gorgeous pic, I discovered a new blog… about food! With a little life and photography thrown in for good measure. Perfect for me, since food is what I love, and photography is what I wish I was good at.

I have to say, the ratatouille was stupendous (and I don’t say that to brag but to say how great the recipe is)… truly, the “secret’s in the sauce” (quote from Fried Green Tomatoes. Blast from the past right there!!).
I am so sorry I didn’t take a picture, but there was no need back then in my pre-blogger days. I am glad I didn’t take a photo as it could never compare with that photo Google gave me.

In fact, I loved the whole veggies-in-a-gorgeous-sauce thing that I used the same tomato sauce recipe to make my first ever veggie lasagne (which freezes well, which is good to know).

The blog I’ve linked in here is no longer active… the author has started a new blog (called Like A Strawberry Milk – more on that another time), but – ah the joy of cyberspace! – all her posts are still there, along with lots of gorgeous recipes.

If you do make this ratatouille (do it!), you can use pretty much any veg; I am trying to use what’s in season these days, or what needs using up in the fridge so it doesn’t get wasted.
I used: aubergine, courgette, red onion, yellow & red peppers, and marrow (LOML didn’t like the marrow so I skipped that when I made the lasagne) – nice colours 🙂
I shall be making many more veggie dishes in future, and they will probably all centre around that fab sauce…

PS It’s supposedly the ratatouille from the movie!

Leave a comment

Filed under Oh Sweet Food

Leave a Reply

