Books! Glorious books!

At last I feel like perhaps, just perhaps, I have time to read again! So, upon friends’ recommendations, this is my reading list:

  • Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
  • The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  • House Rules – Jodie Picoult
  • The Last Song – Nicholas Sparks
  • Minding Frankie – Maeve Binchy
  • The Island – Victoria Hislop
  • Room – Emma Donoghue
  • Cutting For Stone – Abraham Verghese
  • Perfume – Patrick Süskind
  • The Little House – Virginia Lee Burton
  • Tender Morsels – Margo Lanagan
  • Ella Minnow Pea – Mark Dunn (I wanted to start with this one because I just love the title!)
  • Skippy Dies – Paul Murray
  • Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
  • A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole

I have been to the library (and actually registered and now have a library card. Plus a ‘My First Library Card’ for Little Man).

I am, at the moment, reading Jonathon Ross’s Why Do I Say These Things? (Not on the list, I know. I took it out of the library for LOML but have started reading it myself.)

Next will be Birdsong (also libary so it gets priority).

[I also took out a book on scrapbooking in an attempt to prepare myself for Little Man’s book. Too scared to start it!]

Then, I have borrowed Room and The Island from a friend (thanks, Helen!).

It’s been soooooo long since I read a good book… I’m sure you’ll be hearing from me about my progress through the list. And if you have a favourite or a recommendation to add to my list, please let me know. Comments below…

3 Comments

Filed under Oh Sweet Words

3 responses to “Books! Glorious books!

  1. M

    Isn’t it Maeve Binchy?
    I love her books!

  2. Pingback: My Reading List. Hmmm. | OhSweetWhatever

Leave a Reply

