PASTA

When I was growing up, my mom would always ask us what we wanted her to make for our birthday meal. Oooh, I looked forward to my birthday so much – I got to choose what we all had to eat that night! [I was very easy to please, clearly!]

My poor family, it was always one of two meals: Lasagne or Tetrazzini. And I am still not particularly adventurous with food – I like what I like.

Chicken Tetrazzini is great. And, wonderfully, LOML likes it too, so I don’t have to wait for my birthday to force it on him.

You need:

Spaghetti and chopped up chicken fillets (enough for 4 people)

Whole button mushrooms (a whole punnet if you can)

50g butter  (+ more if you want to cook the chicken and/or mushrooms in butter)

5 Tablespoons flour

425ml chicken stock

75ml/5 tablespoons white wine

150ml cream

Grated cheese to go over the top

Here’s how:

1. Get the spaghetti cooking.

2. Cook the whole mushrooms until browned and tender. Drain and remove.

3. Cook the chicken pieces.

4. Melt butter in the pan with the chicken (you can remove chicken before starting the sauce if you prefer, but when I do it this way my sauce doesn’t get lumpy!)

5. Turn down the heat before sprinkling in the flour. Stir well.

6. Gradually add the chicken stock, stirring until smooth and thick.

7. Add the mushrooms.

8. Remove from heat, pour in white wine and cream and stir gently.

9. Season with salt, pepper and nutmeg (if you like).

10. Drain the spaghetti, then combine with the sauce.

11. Pour into a large dish, sprinkle grated cheese over the top, and bake for around 30 minutes at 180 C/350 F.

Give it a try. And let me know if you do 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Oh Sweet Food, Oh Sweet Life

2 responses to “PASTA

  1. M

    Dad’s favourite too!!! Still have that tradition on birthdays, even if it’s only the 2 of us now. It’s my favourite too, but am having problems with dairy at the moment, so will have to find a new favourite without all that cheese and cream. Dad & I shared a wedge of Fairview Brie on Wednesday….still suffering, BUT IT WAS DELICIOUS.

Leave a Reply

