Not A Spring Chicken

I am no longer in my 20’s, people!

I had a lovely day with my little family celebrating my entrance to my thirties 🙂 We’ve kept our birthdays very low-key this year because we want to save up to go on a family holiday near the end of the year when we’re (hopefully!) sleeping better at night and more able to cope with a bit of  travel with the Little Man. We’ll either be visiting friends in the south of France, or family in South Africa. Still figuring out the details, but excited either way.

Anyway, it was great having a long weekend – everyone’s in a holiday mood. In fact, in South Africa (where my family lives) there’s another public holiday tomorrow, so they’re feeling it even more!

Look what I got –  a m p e r s a n d  🙂

I haven’t decided exactly where it’ll go, or if I’ll decoupage or add anything onto it, but for now it gets pride of place with my little ‘vignette’ in the living room…

Okay *deep breath* you’re going to think I’m weird. Weirder than perhaps you already think I am. A large proportion of my 30th birthday present has been edible. ‘That’s not so bad’, I imagine you’re thinking, ‘as long as it’s something proper posh.’ Well, it’s not. It’s a bar of chocolate and a jar of peanut butter.

There, I said it. LOML is highly embarrassed that I consider that a suitable gift. But it’s what I wanted!

They’re both from SA, and the peanut butter is like nothing you can find in the shops here in the UK. The chocolate (in SA we call it a slab of chocolate – how great does that sound?? Way better than a prim and proper ‘bar of chocolate’ here!) is a layer of white chocolate on top of normal milk chocolate and it is awesomeness.

The absolute best gift was a Skype video call with my mom & dad, and my brother, sis-in-law, nephew and niece. We sent my parents a webcam as part of my birthday present 🙂 They all sang happy birthday to me, and my little 1 year old niece was clapping her hands like crazy and I got appropriately choked up…

With all the bank holidays, the rest of my present from LOML is running a bit late. I chose it so it’s not a surprise, but I’m sure I’ll pop something about it into a blog post once it’s arrived.

Hip hip hurray for birthdays 🙂

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter.

2 Comments

Filed under Oh Sweet Chocolate, Oh Sweet Life

2 responses to “Not A Spring Chicken

  1. M

    So glad you had a lovely day. It was super speaking to you and knowing you could see us. Thanks for the webcam. Glad A was here to set it up quickly so we could use it. I’d have taken days to unravel it.

  2. Pingback: Birthday presents. Again. | OhSweetWhatever

Leave a Reply

