A Leaf From My Book

Last week Friday I posted about a use for those old books I bought at a car boot sale.

And here’s what else I’ve been doing with those old vintage pages… plus cereal boxes, doilies and vellum paper.

I used gift tags [that I bought a while back from here] as a rough guide to cut out rectangles from old cereal boxes (look at me repurposing all proper-like). I then glued the printed, colourful side of the cereal box onto suitable pages and cut out the tags. The brownish inside of the cereal box makes a nice neutral surface to write on.

On top of the page side of the tag, I glued a bit of paper doily (el cheapo) and hole-punched a message – birthday, in this case. I bought a pack of vellum and printed out a billion different messages – congrats, thank you’s, etc. to add to the ‘generic’ tag whenever I need them.

Lastly, I used rubber stamps to stamp out the recipient’s name in the doily bit. Then I strung the tag and birthday message on some twine and tied onto the gift.

While I was making this tag, I also used some scraps of Cath Kidston writing paper (leftover from this little project) to make another tag in the same way:

And here’s what I hope to still do one day with those old vintage book pages…

Via Kara Paslay Designs

A little ambitious perhaps? Especially considering my crafting skills don’t seem to go beyond gift tags!

Leave a comment

Filed under Oh Sweet Handmade

Leave a Reply

